Books by Hunter S. Thompson

The following is a complete list of books written by Hunter S. Thompson, although it only includes first editions and omits reprints, special editions, and translations.

  • Hell’s Angels: The Strange and Terrible Saga of the Outlaw Motorcycle Gangs (1967)
  • Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas: A Savage Journey to the Heart of the American Dream (1972)
  • Fear and Loathing: On the Campaign Trail ‘72 (1973)
  • Gonzo Papers, Vol. 1: The Great Shark Hunt: Strange Tales from a Strange Time (1979)
  • The Curse of Lono (1983)
  • Gonzo Papers, Vol. 2: Generation of Swine: Tales of Shame and Degradation in the ’80s (1988)
  • Gonzo Papers, Vol. 3: Songs of the Doomed: More Notes on the Death of the American Dream (1990)
  • Screwjack & Other Stories (1991)
  • Better Than Sex: Confessions of a Political Junkie (1994)
  • Proud Highway: Saga of a Desperate Southern Gentleman, 1955-1967 (1997)
  • Mistah Leary, He Dead: A Eulogy for Dr. Timothy Leary (1997)
  • The Rum Diary (1998)
  • Fear and Loathing in America: The Brutal Odyssey of an Outlaw Journalist 1968–1976 (2000)
  • Kingdom of Fear: Loathsome Secrets of a Star-Crossed Child In the Final Days of the American Century (2003)
  • Hey Rube: Blood Sport, the Bush Doctrine, and the Downward Spiral of Dumbness (2004)
  • Fire in the Nuts (2004)
  • Fear and Loathing at Rolling Stone: The Essential Writing of Hunter S. Thompson (2009)

For books that collect Thompson’s interviews, see Books About Hunter S. Thompson. You can see all his articles here.